"Conductors" up against challenging tasks - the complex issues of 
chairpersons of supervisory boards

HEADSAHEAD sent out invitations to a practical forum in July under the title "Professionalising Supervisory Board Work." It became clear: issues that concern chairpersons of supervisory boards are as urgent as they are multifaceted. The exchange is worthwhile - and everyone agreed it should be continued.

Düsseldorf, 16th July 2018 

Up to now, it was a one-of-a-kind - and as it turned out, important round that HEADSAHEAD made possible in collaboration with the renowned corporate law firm, Linklaters LLP, on 5th July in Düsseldorf. 18 heads of supervisory and advisory boards from companies throughout Germany got together following the invitation by the executive search consultancy and talked about the issue of "Professionalising Supervisory Board Work."

"Based on our own supervisory board activities, we know there is not a lot of competent and practice-related exchange regarding this", explained Stefan Eltgen, Partner at HEADSAHEAD and Supervisory Board Chairman of J. Bünting Beteiligungs AG. "We aimed to close this gap with our interactive practical forum. The exchange should be able to take place in an open and trusting way, which is why we deliberately chose a small-scale, personal setting."

Supervisory boards: the character must fit

Right at the start of the event in the Industry Club, it became clear that the issue of pro-fessionalising supervisory board work is more than just a buzzword. "Rather, it is legislators’ clear demand as a response to the mistrust that has arisen in the self-regulating forces of supervisory boards", clarified Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Wilsing, Lawyer and Partner at Linklaters LLP as well as an experienced advisor to executive and supervisory boards in a keynote speech. 

Openly and ready to engage in discussions, the invited participants brought up their pressing issues. One of them: the necessary optimal staffing of mandates. "At least just as important as professional competencies are the soft factors such as personal character traits of supervisory board members", concluded Prof. Dr. Wilsing. 

Astrid Hamker, entrepreneur and member in supervisory and advisory boards of family-run companies as well as the Chairwoman of Seier GmbH’s Advisory Board, also considers the right composition of supervisory and advisory boards to be a success factor of pro-fessionalisation: "The challenge is to win over personalities who represent ‘diversity’ in terms of their experience and expertise as well as their character. Thanks to many different perspectives, a comprehensive reflection is possible. This provides the board of directors and top management with a wide array of impulses and it certainly calls into question the ‘customary’ and ‘proven’ in a dynamic environment", she explained.

Numerous tasks, high pressure – low compensation

Ursula Opper, who specialises in staffing supervisory and advisory board mandates as a Partner at HEADSAHEAD and who is the initiator of the practical forum, saw her observations confirmed by the discussion: "The role of heads of supervisory boards and their relationship to the company’s management have changed. Through their entrepreneurial advisory role on the one hand, and their monitoring function on the other hand, the diversity of their tasks was underscored by the discussion partners," she explained. "The chairperson of a supervisory board must be an all-rounder who understands the company from top to bottom and is aware of his or her role, also in a changing corporate reality, and who rises to this challenge with strong commitment. And trust must always be the basis of the cooperation between him/her and management."

Hamker highlighted the head of the supervisory board’s special task of "orchestrating" the board and then "like a conductor, ensuring that at the end of the day, decisions are taken in favour of the company."

The discussion partners all agreed that the complexity of the continually growing tasks and increased liability risk are not, however, reflected in the compensation. "Professionalisation of supervisory board work that has been increasingly demanded over the last few years by legis-lators and also the Government Commission German Corporate Governance Code is in stark contrast to developments at the compensation level, where the office in a supervisory board – especially in smaller companies – is often still treated like an honorary office", criticized Wilsing.

Practical forum will be continued

The participants’ unanimous request for a continuation shows how helpful the exchange at eye level was: "We’ll maintain the format of this interactive event and get together again in the same session", announced Ralf Kreutzberg, Managing Partner at HEADSAHEAD. "There is a strong interest in and demand for exchanging experiences about specific issues in a competent round."

 

Praxis-Forum im Industrieclub Düsseldorf.

The initiators and organisers: Ralf Kreutzberg, Stefan Eltgen & Ursula Opper from HEADSAHEAD and Klaus Möllerfriedrich, Chariman of the Board of Gesco AG (from left to right).

Also read our interview: "Companies need professional competencies in supervisory board work"

Back to Top

"Dirigenten" vor herausfordernden Aufgaben - die komplexen Themen der Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden

Zu einem Praxis-Forum unter dem Titel "Professionalisierung der Aufsichtsratsarbeit" lud HEADSAHEAD im Juli ein. Es wurde deutlich: Die Themen, die Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende bewegen, sind so drängend wie vielschichtig. Der Austausch lohnt - und soll auf Wunsch aller fortgesetzt werden.

Düsseldorf, 16.07.2018.
Es ist eine bislang einzigartige - und wie sich zeigte, wichtige Runde gewesen, die HEADSAHEAD in Kooperation mit der renommierten Wirtschaftskanzlei Linklaters LLP am 5. Juli in Düsseldorf ermöglicht hat. 18 Vorsitzende von Aufsichts- und Beiräten von Unternehmen aus ganz Deutschland kamen auf Einladung der Executive Search Beratung zusammen und diskutierten über das Thema "Professionalisierung der Aufsichtsratsarbeit"

"Aus eigenen Aufsichtsratstätigkeiten wissen wir, dass es hierzu wenig kompetenten und praxisbezogenen Austausch gibt", erläuterte Stefan Eltgen, Partner bei HEADSAHEAD und Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender der J. Bünting Beteiligungs AG. "Diese Lücke wollten wir mit unserem interaktiven Praxis-Forum schließen. Der Austausch sollte offen und vertrauensvoll stattfinden können, weshalb wir bewusst einen kleinen, persönlichen Rahmen gewählt haben."

Aufsichtsräte: Der Charakter muss passen

Gleich zu Beginn der Veranstaltung im Industrieclub wurde deutlich, dass es sich bei der Professionalisierung der Aufsichtsratstätigkeit um mehr als nur ein Schlagwort handelt. "Es ist vielmehr die klare Forderung des Gesetzgebers als Reaktion auf entstandenes Misstrauen in die Selbstregulierungskräfte der Aufsichtsgremien", stellte Prof. Dr. Hans-Ulrich Wilsing, Rechtsanwalt und Partner bei Linklaters LLP sowie erfahrener Vorstands- und Aufsichtsratsberater, in einem Impulsvortrag klar. 

Offen und diskussionsbereit brachten die geladenen Teilnehmer die für sie drängenden Themen zur Sprache. Eines davon: die notwendige optimale Besetzung von Mandaten. "Mindestens ebenso wichtig wie fachliche Kompetenzen sind weiche Faktoren wie persönliche Charaktereigenschaften der Aufsichtsratsmitglieder", befand Prof. Dr. Wilsing. 

Auch Astrid Hamker, Unternehmerin und Mitglied in Aufsichts- und Beiräten von Familienunternehmen sowie Vorsitzende des Beirats der Seier GmbH, sah in der richtigen Zusammensetzung von Aufsichts- und Beiräten einen Erfolgsfaktor der Professionalisierung: "Die Herausforderung besteht darin, Persönlichkeiten zu gewinnen, die sowohl von ihrer Erfahrung und Expertise als auch von ihrem Charakter her ‚Vielfalt‘ repräsentieren. Dank vieler unterschiedlicher Blickwinkel ist eine umfassende Reflexion möglich, welche Vorstand und Geschäftsführung eine Vielzahl an Impulsen liefert und in einem dynamischen Umfeld ‚Gewohntes‘ und ‚Bewährtes‘ durchaus infrage stellt", erläuterte sie.

Viele Aufgaben, hoher Druck - geringe Vergütung

Ursula Opper, die als Partnerin bei HEADSAHEAD auf die Besetzung von Aufsichtsrats- und Beiratsmandaten spezialisiert und Initiatorin des Praxis-Forums ist, sah ihre Beobachtungen durch die Diskussion bestätigt: "Die Rolle der Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden als auch sein Verhältnis zum Management des Unternehmens haben sich gewandelt. Über seine unternehmerisch beratende Rolle einerseits sowie seine überwachende Funktion andererseits wurde die Vielfalt seiner Aufgaben seitens der Diskutierenden betont", erklärte sie. "Der Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende muss ein Allrounder sein, der das Unternehmen grundlegend versteht und sich seiner verantwortungsvollen Rolle auch in einer sich verändernden Unternehmenswirklichkeit bewusst ist und sich dieser mit hohem Engagement stellt. Und immer muss Vertrauen die Basis der Zusammenarbeit zwischen ihm und dem Management sein."

Hamker stellte die besondere Aufgabe des Aufsichtsratsvorsitzenden hervor, das Gremium zu "orchestrieren" und dann "wie ein Dirigent dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass am Ende Entscheidungen zugunsten des Unternehmens getroffen werden."

Die Vielschichtigkeit der immer weiter wachsenden Aufgaben und das erhöhte Haftungsrisiko spiegle sich allerdings nicht in der Vergütung wider, waren sich die Diskutierenden einig. "Die durch den Gesetzgeber und auch die Regierungskommission Deutscher Corporate Governance Kodex in den letzten Jahren zunehmend eingeforderte Professionalisierung der Aufsichtsratsarbeit steht in deutlichem Gegensatz zu den Entwicklungen auf Vergütungsebene, wo das Aufsichtsratsamt - insbesondere in kleineren Gesellschaften - häufig noch immer wie ein Ehrenamt behandelt wird", kritisierte Wilsing.

Praxis-Forum wird fortgesetzt

Wie hilfreich der Austausch auf Augenhöhe war, zeigte der einhellige Wunsch der Teilnehmer nach einer Fortsetzung: "Wir werden das Format dieser interaktiven Veranstaltung aufrechterhalten und wieder in derselben Runde zusammenkommen", kündigte Ralf Kreutzberg, Managing Partner bei HEADSAHEAD, an. "Das Interesse und der Bedarf sind groß, sich in kompetenter Runde zu spezifischen Themen auszutauschen." 

Praxis-Forum im Industrieclub Düsseldorf.

Die Initiatoren und Veranstalter: Ralf Kreutzberg, Stefan Eltgen und Ursula Opper von HEADSAHEAD sowie Klaus Möllerfriedrich, Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender des Gesco AG (v.l.n.r.).

Lesen Sie auch unser Interview: "Unternehmen brauchen professionelle Kompetenzen in der Ausichtsratsarbeit" 

Back to Top